Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Secondary Navigation

Main page Content


The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life - wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.
From the first year of schooling, students develop knowledge and skills in:
·       English
·       Mathematics
·       Science
·       Health and Physical Education (HPE)
·       Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
·       The Arts
·       Technologies
·       Languages (Japanese).
General capabilities are included in the content of the learning areas. These are the skills and abilities intended to help prepare young Australians to learn, live and work in the 21st century. The Australian Curriculum has seven general capabilities:
·       Literacy
·       Numeracy
·       Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Capability
·       Critical and Creative Thinking
·       Personal and Social Capability
·       Ethical Understanding
·       Intercultural Understanding
There are three priorities in the Australian Curriculum are critical to Australia’s future:
·       Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders Histories and Culture
·       Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia
·       Sustainability
Curriculum into the Classroom (C2C) is a set of example resources to help teachers to implement the Australian Curriculum; it provides a starting point for planning. Teachers are encouraged to adopt and adapt these resources to meet individual students’ learning needs and local contexts.
At Magnetic Island State School we provide opportunities to engage with extra-curricular learning opportunities that are specific to our school, through affiliations with:
·       Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden (an experience-based kitchen garden program)
·       Reef Guardian Schools
·       Peer Support Australia